- (12) Communication T
- Thra Moo Pler Htoo
- (13) Men's Department GS / AGS
- (14) Literature and Culture Thramu Nita

## 11. Co-ordinator of the Projects - GS

- (1) Study Bible Translation
- (2) 21st Century Second Phase 10-year Project

# 12. Officers of the Karen Baptist Theological Seminary.

(1) Rev. Dr. Hsa Mu Htaw (Principal)

- (2) Rev. Dr. Gler Taw (Vice Principal)
- (3) Thramu Swe Swe Latt (Treasurer)

# 13. The Growth of KBC

With a modest beginning of 1270 members at the death of Saw Ko Tha Byu in 1840, the KBC today has 20 Churches Associations, 1758 Churches and 274110 members.

Its annual budget reaches Kyats 570 Million in 2009. The great majority of the Karen Baptist Churches had reached the three goals of missionary effort; being self-supporting, self-governing, and self-propagating.

The KBC is affiliated to the Myanmar Baptist Convention which in turn, has relationship with the Myanmar Council of Churches, the Board of International Ministries of the American Baptist Churches, the Baptist Council of World Mission, the Asia Baptist Federation, the Baptist World Alliance, the Christian Conference of Asia, and the World Council of Churches, for participation in world-wide mission.

14. The latest statistics of the KBC (2013)					
<u>No.</u>	Associations	<u>Church</u>	Membership		
1.	Hpa-an Mawlamyaing	84	10516		
2.	Pathein Myaungmya	290	50247		
3.	Yangon	315	67785		
4.	Hinthada	112	16531		
5.	Shwegyin	100	13133		
6.	Toungoo-Paku	155	17831		
7.	Toungoo-Bwe Moh Bwa	80	8195		
8.	Dawei Myeik	67	12815		
9.	Kehko-Kehbah	52	3941		
10.	Pyi-Thayawady	60	5362		
11.	Kayah MohBwa	53	7378		
12.	Hpa-pun	43	7350		
13.	Nyaunglebin	50	6463		
14.	Upper Myanmar	20	5496		
15.	Myaungmya	58	13730		
16.	Myeik	89	10329		
17.	Kayah Poo	44	5118		
18.	Bago-Yangon	23	3922		
19.	Kya Inn	46	5925		
20.	Myro	<u>17</u>	<u>2043</u>		
	Total	1758	274110		

#### **Contact address:**

396 - Bogyoke Road. Lanmadaw Township. Yangon, Myanmar



## **2014**

### **1. The Karen Baptist Convention**

The KBC is the co-operation and co-ordinating body of all the Karen Baptist Churches in Myanmar.

#### 2. Brief Historical Background

The first Karen Baptist convert was a former illiterate and uncouth man named Saw Ko Tha Byu. He was converted through the ministry of the American Baptist pioneer missionary Adoniram Judson. Later he asked for baptism, and on a trip to Dawei with George Dana Boardman, the first American Baptist Missionary to the Karens, he was baptized at Dawei on May 16, 1828, at the age of 50. His conversion turned him into a flaming evangelist. By the time of his death on September 9, 1840, at age 62, there were 1270 Baptist church members among the Karens. He was also given a title of "The Karen Apostle" by The American missionaries.

### 3. Vision and Mission

Vision - The vision of the Karen Baptist Convention is to organize all the Karen Baptist Churches in Myanmar for co-ordination and co-operation in holistic Mission.

### Mission Statement -

Karen Baptist Convention is the co-operating body organized with all the Karen Baptist Churches in Myanmar. The KBC is committed to strive for the oneness of the Karen Baptist Churches, and working together in Church planting, holistic development of the Church leaders and church members, spiritually and physically which will lead to the fullness of life with dignity through worship, fellowship and meeting, training, publishing of literature and co-operation with churches and organizations, inside and outside the country.

The Convention, however, shall have no power to interfere with the internal affairs of its churches and associations in its endeavor to fulfill its purposes.

# 4. The Organization

The following churches associations co-operate fully in the work of the Convention.

- (1) The Hpa-an Mawlamyaing Karen Baptist Association.
- (2) The Pathein Myaungmya Sgaw Karen Baptist Association.
- (3) The Yangon Home Mission Karen Baptist Association.
- (4) The Hinthada Karen Baptist Association.
- (5) The Shwegyin Karen Baptist Association.
- (6) The Toungoo Paku Karen Baptist Association.
- (7) The Toungoo Thandawn Bwe Moh Bwa Karen Baptist Association.
- (8) The Dawei Myeik Karen Baptist Association.

- (9) The Toungoo Kehko Kehbah Karen Baptist Association.
- (10) The Pyi Thayawady Karen Baptist Association.
- (11) The Kayah Moh Bwa Baptist Association
- (12) The Hpa-pun Karen Baptist Association.
- (13) The Nyaunglebin Karen Baptist Association.
- (14) The Upper Myanmar Karen Baptist Association.
- (15) The Myaungmya Sgaw Karen Baptist Association.
- (16) The Myeik Karen Baptist Association.
- (17) The Kayah Poo Baptist Association.
- (18) The Bago-Yangon Baptist Association
- (19) The Kya Inn Karen Baptist Association
- (20) The Myro Baptist Association

### 5. The Departments of the Convention

- (1) Finance and Property Department
- (2) Evangelism and Mission Department
- (3) Christian Education Department
- (4) Publication Department
- (5) Care and Counseling Department
- (6) Leadership Promotion Department
- (7) Christian Social Service & Development Department
- (8) Theological Department
- (9) Department for Youth Work
- (10) Women's Department
- (11) Ministers' Department
- (12) Communication Department
- (13) Men's Department
- (14) Literature and Culture Department

# 6. Standing Committee

(1) Social Ministry Board

# 7. Projects of the Convention

- (1) Study Bible translation Project
- (2) 21st Century Second Phase 10-year project

# 8. Commissions under the Supervision of General Secretary

- (1) Church Affairs and Peace
- (2) Partnership in Mission

### 9. The Institution and Work Centre

- (1) The Karen Baptist Theological Seminary
- (2) The Go-Foward Printing Press
- (3) Rural Mission Development Centre
- (4) KBC Care Clinic

### 10. The Administration Officers of the Convention

President	- Rev. Dr. Greeta Din
Vice President	- Rev. Dr. Mar Gay Gyi
Vice President	- Rev. Lah Po
General Secretary	- Rev. Dr. Samson
Associate General Secretary	- Rev. Ywar Du Moo
Chief Executive officer for	
Social Ministry board	- Dr. Yi Aye Hla
Treasurer	- Thramu Ker Kaw Htoo

# **Directors of the Departments**

(1)	Finance and Property	-	Thramu Ker Kaw Htoo
(2)	Evangelism & Mission	-	Thra Htoo Ka Baw
(3)	Christian Education	-	Thramu Daffodil
(4)	Publication	-	Thramu Tin May Phyu
(5)	Care & Counseling	-	Thramu
			Htoo Ku Kalu Paw
(6)	Leadership Promotion	-	Thramu Dr. Lay Htoo
(7)	Christian Social Service	&	Development
		-	Thramu Ju Paw
(8)	Theological	-	Thramu Lah Paw
(9)	Department for Youth	No	ork- Thra Eh Keh Ler
(10)	Women's Department	-	Thramu
			Myaung Mya Paw
(11)			
$(\Pi)$	Ministers' Department	-	Rev. Kwa Lar